Retour sur le mapping party

Quelques personnes m’ont demandé comment s’était passé le mapping party, notamment Richard sur la liste talk-ca@openstreetmap. Comme je suis paresseux, voici ce que je lui ai répondu:

I had a great time. We were five people at the meeting point Saturday morning. Two of us were by bicycle (Thibault and myself), one by feet (Daniel), and two were going to use one car (Michel and his wife). I covered about half of the Ahuntsic West zone I had assigned myself.

At about 1:30 PM I stopped at a drive-through with my bicycle (funny!) and ate my lunch in a random park I found. Then I headed back downtown to an other meeting point with Daniel and Thibault. We had two laptops and I first showed how JOSM works, then let both try it by themselves. Here’s a picture Thibault took right before leaving.

The original plan was then to hang out in a bar, but we had other obligations and that’s how it ended. Actually, it is not finished as I have just started entering my survey results into JOSM tonight. We were supposed to continue on Sunday, but nobody was available.

Here’s the traces I’ve uploaded: 207763 and
207777. And here’s the one from Thibault: 204299.

Both of us were by bicycle with a GPS, but I was recording a long audio track and he was taking pictures with a regular camera. Daniel was by foot and had a printed map of downtown Montreal. Unfortunately, the scale was too large and it was difficult for him to read back his notes. I hope he was able to get out most of it.

I took a snapshot of the streets-without-names rendering of the map before the party, and will take an other one when we are finished adding all our data.

Cet article, publié dans Non classé, est tagué . Ajoutez ce permalien à vos favoris.

Un commentaire pour Retour sur le mapping party

  1. michael dit :

    I think you should think about how ISF could help make this project a lot bigger. It might be something that we would be interested in promoting if you wanted to do some communications work for it. I could help. Ping me if you’re interested.

Laisser un commentaire

